SULEKHA KARN

SULEKHA KARN

I’m 52 years old and live with my family in Janakpur-24, Basahiya. Since my husband passed away, I live with my son, who works as a market representative. The money I get from selling ceramics helps me pay my bills.

There was a school only up to grade 8. Though there was a school near my village, I was not allowed to go there. So, I got the opportunity to take school education up to 8th grade only. Growing up in my Indian village’s Madhubani district, I studied art. Tourists used to come to our town to promote art and to give fundamental instruction in drawing and painting.

I have been working at the Janakpur Women’s Development Center (JWDC) since 2048 B.S. I currently manage the ceramics department there. Making things out of clay is the focus of the Mithila art form known as ceramics. After my marriage, I traveled to Kathmandu and attended different pieces of training at CTEVT, Sanothimi, and Bhaktapur. 

I create items like elephants at JWDC and sell them during the wedding season to get money. Since there are no orders placed today, items like pots, cups, and plates are not produced. The fire that is used to heat the items is the most crucial aspect of ceramic art. My five ceramic works of art have even been displayed in Kathmandu. I’ve also been praised and awarded a prize for my artwork.

I would rather paint than do ceramic art, but I haven’t been able to advance due to a lack of funding. If I ever get the chance, I would like to paint. I want to urge everyone else to tell people about Mithila Art so that they will buy our products. From this, we can make money, and Mithila Art will also be promoted.

Leave a Reply